In Memoriam

In memory of members of the WAZA community who have passed.

  • Amy Camacho, Director and co-owner of Africam Safari Puebla
  • Antoni Gucwinski, Director Emeritus, ZOO Wroclaw Sp. z o.o., WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Antonio J. de Freitas, Director Emeritus, SAAMBR (South African Association for Marine Biological Research), WAZA Honorary Member
  • Dr Arne Schiøtz, Director of Danmarks Akvarium, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Bernhard Blaszkiewitz, Former Director of Tierpark Berlin, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Bohumil Král, Director Emeritus, Zoo Brno, WAZA Honorary Member
  • Dr David E. Wildt, Senior Scientist Emeritus, Smithsonian’s Conservation Biology Institute’s Center for Species Survival
  • Dr Dieter Poley, Director Emeritus, Zoo Heidelberg, WAZA Life Member
  • Prof Dr Ernst M. Lang, Former Director, Zoologischer Garten Basel AG, WAZA Life Member
  • Françoise Delord, Director Emeritus, Zooparc de Beauval, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr George Rabb, Director Emeritus, Brookfield Zoo
  • Prof Drh. c. mult. Heinz-Georg Klös, Director Emeritus, Zoo Berlin, WAZA President 1981-1983, WAZA Life Member
  • Prof Dr Henning Julins, Director Emeritus, Aalborg Zoo, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Ilkka Koivisto, Director Emeritus, Helsinki Zoo, WAZA Honorary Member
  • Dr Jeremy Mallinson OBE, Director Emeritus of the Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, WAZA Life Member, awarded the WAZA Heini Hediger Award in 1998
  • Dr John Knowles, Founder Marwell Wildlife, WAZA Honorary Member
  • Dr Józef Skotnicki, Director Zoo Kraków
  • Kathryn Roberts, Former Executive Director, Minnesota Zoological Garden, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Lester E. Fisher, Director Emeritus, Lincoln Park Zoo, WAZA Honorary Member
  • Dr Manfred Kraus, Director Emeritus, Tiergarten der Stadt Nürnberg, WAZA Life Member
  • Molly Badham, Co-founder of Twycross Zoo, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Murray A. Newman, Director Emeritus, Vancouver Aquarium, WAZA Life Member
  • Dr Pedro Trebbau, WAZA Honorary Member
  • Petr Čolas, Director of Ostrava Zoo
  • Sally Raulston Walker, Founder Zoo Outreach Organization (ZOO)
  • Steve Wylie, former Director of Oklahoma City Zoo, WAZA Life Member
  • Suriya Saengpong, Zoological Organization Thailand
  • Dr Theodore Reed, Director Emeritus, Smithsonian’s Conservation Biology Institute’s Center for Species Survival, WAZA Life Member
  • Vladimir Spitsin, President of Moscow Zoo and the Eurasian Regional Association of Zoos and Aquariums (EARAZA)
  • Prof Dr Wilbert Neugebauer, Director Emeritus, Wilhelma Zoologisch-Botanischer Garten, WAZA Life Member
  • William G. Conway, Senior Conservationist, Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS)
  • Andrew Eriksen, Managing Director, Cango Wildlife Ranch 

The World Association of Zoos and Aquariums (WAZA) is the global alliance of regional associations, national federations, zoos and aquariums, dedicated to the care and conservation of animals and their habitats around the world.

WAZA is a member of the following organisations:
© 2022 WAZA | All Rights Reserved | Legal Notice | Terms of Use | Sitemap | PRIVACY POLICY | Design