Council and Committees


The Council consists of the President, the President-elect, who functions as the Vice-President and seven other members, one of which serves as Treasurer and another as Chairman of the Membership Committee. The officers and council members represent geographic regions according to a composition determined by Council. Terms for each elected member of the Council consist of two years respectively. Members-at-large may be eligible for re-election, but may not serve more than three full terms consecutively.


The Council is entrusted with the general direction and operation of the Association and may adopt such rules as necessary, within the limits of the Bylaws, to transact business. Each member of Council has a single vote. In the event of a tie in voting, the President casts the deciding vote. The Council is reflective of the Association's demographics and no member of the Council receives compensation for his or her services. The Association's full time, paid Executive serves as an ex-officio member of the Council without the right to vote.


The Council holds at least two meetings a year and as many others as deemed necessary for the purpose of transacting Council business.



The Council forms permanent committees as well as other committees and working groups. It appoints its members for the purpose of addressing specific issues and to satisfy the objectives of the Association. Only permanent committees are formally identified and defined in the Bylaws. These groups function in accordance with the Bylaws and are subject to normal parliamentary procedures if applicable. All members of standing committees are voting members of the Association. The President serves as an ex-officio member of all committees and working groups except the Nominating Committee, without the right to vote.